[WRGU] Gemini Cup Results And Collaboration Events

Sup fam and welcome to another edition of the Weekly Gacha Rhythm Game Update, the weekly post where I talk about the gacha rhythm games I play!

For those who are new to these posts, the games I play are BanG Dream: Girls Band Party (Garupa) in the Japanese (JP) server, D4DJ Groovy Mix (GuruMiku) in the Japanese (JP) and Worldwide (WW or EN) servers, Project Sekai: Colorful Stage feat. Hatsune Miku (PuroSeka), and Uma Musume: Pretty Derby. The latter two are Japanese only… for now.

Relatively quiet week, so this will probably be a short post. One little logistical thing: I’m gonna be busy next week moving things and I won’t have time to write about my gacha endeavors (much less play them TBH). Because of that, the next WRGU will be in two weeks on July 4th, so look out for that.

K, with that out of the way, let’s kick things off starting with the classic:


Garupa

Events: Hagumi and the Happy Dinosaur / This is our Idol’s SAGA!

(No new pulls)

Goodbye Hello, Happy World event, hello Zombie Land Saga collab event!

Y’all might remember how I mentioned my meh feelings on the untrained card art last week. Well, the trained art is out, and yeah, it’s much better than the zombified Pasta*Pals. Each character is dressed like a Zombie Land Saga character — Aya is Sakura, Hina is Ai, Chisato is Saki, Eve is Yuugiri, and Maya is Junko. I’m not gonna load this page with all of the images, but here’s an image with all five Pasta*Pals (follow this link for full images):

Image

Good stuff. I might pull just for the LOLs (and since this is a limited gacha), so tune in for the results from that in two weeks.


Project Sekai

Event: Wonder Magical Showtime!

(No new pulls)

Soo… yeah. The last event just ended and we’re in the weird period between events. They just announced the next event will be 25-ji de Night Code themed, and based on the preview image, it looks like I’m gonna be doing some pulling:

Look forward to that I guess.


D4DJ Groovy Mix (JP)

Events: Connect Your Feelings! Blessing Bridal Live / Indigo Bullet

From one limited event to another: a D4DJ story.

Yup, limited event. Yup, unit event. Yup, it’s Rondo. Yup, Tsubaki isn’t the event card.

Bummers.

The good news is that like the Valentine’s Day event, Tsubaki is the 3* gacha card, which means I hypothetically have a better shot of pulling her. Unfortunately, God is cruel because in the first 10-pull, I got… the 4* Nagisa.

…That’s not what I wanted, God.

In the second 10-pull, I got another 4* card, because why not. Screw getting the event 3* card which should have higher rates because rate-up, let’s get random 4* cards!

Rate up is a lie.

Anyway, because this is a Rondo event, I’ve actually been trying to play so I can get a decently high rank. Right now, I’m aiming for Top 10000, which shouldn’t be too hard as long as I use up my stamina bar every day (and occasionally play more).

I was thinking about Top 1000 but there are two reasons why I’m not doing that. First, I’m gonna be busy soon, so no time. Second, I already have a Top 1000 title from the Valentine Day’s event (see the WRGU from that week).

Side note, this event is a poker event (AKA lots of coins), but they recently added some bonuses based on the characters that appear on cards you draw. As a result, I’ve been getting obscene amounts of coins. Here’s a recent hand where I got 1 million coins:

Yeah, that’s right: ONE MILLION. I doubled my coinage just like that. Thanks GuruMiku!

Lastly, something to look forward to — the game’s Twitter account announced a future collaboration gacha/event with none other than Gochuumon wa Usagi desu ka?

Yay more limited gachas! Also wow, so many collaborations in such a short time. I get why they’re doing it (promote their game/get more money), but if I have to be honest, I wish there weren’t this many.

We’re still in the game’s first year, and this is already the game’s fifth collaboration (not counting the non-event collabs like Godzilla vs Kong). I kinda wish there were more story-driven events to flesh out characters more rather than these fluff events. Unfortunately, that doesn’t bring in the money. Because at the end of the day, it’s all about the money.


D4DJ Groovy Mix (WW/EN)

Event: D4FES ~Celebrating, Once More~ / The Reason for Quintuplets

Speaking of collabs, the EN server is currently running the Quintessential Quintuplets collab event/gacha, which I’m a bit surprised to see in this server. It looks like the songs didn’t make it to the server (understandable), but hey at least the fans get the cards and event. Good for them.

As for me, I’m sorta glad this event is running, because it’s a good time for me to take a break (similar to what I did when this event happened in JP server).

For those who don’t know, this event doesn’t have any event cards. None. All five cards in this set are 4* and in the gacha. Basically, that means that someone like me who plays for event cards is left out in the dust.

Sure, there’s limited club items, but I don’t ever use them, so there’s no good reason for me to play.

So I won’t. Simple as that.

See ya next week, EN GuruMiku.


Uma Musume: Pretty Derby

Event: Gemini Cup / Legend Races

(No new pulls)

The moment we’ve all been waiting for… how did I do in the Gemini Cup?

In short, surprisingly well! Turns out Open League is easier to compete in than Grade League. Who woulda thunk?

Anyway, my team of Gold Ship/Special Week/third character (a mix between Grass Wonder, Mejiro McQueen and Nice Nature) excelled during Round 1. In fact, I got five wins one round, which was more of a moral victory since the difference in rewards isn’t that huge in the first round.

The second round was a bit of a struggle, as I barely made it to the Group A finals thanks to three consecutive victories in the end of the turn:

Shoutout to Spe-chan for winning all three

Once I made it to the Group A Finals, I decided to keep Grass Wonder as my third since she had hella debuff skills. I watched the final (which was just a single race) and it was definitely close.

An opponent’s Biwa Hayahide was in first for the first half of the race while my three horses were in the back half (with Gold Ship far far behind). I was getting worried until they started catching up, with Golshi eventually rushing to first in the final stretch. Unfortunately, an opponent’s Super Creek wasn’t far behind, and she eventually overtook Golshi in the final hundred meters to claim first place.

So in sum, I got second place (out of 5,241th, which I’m not sure what that’s about). Not too shabby, all things considered. Definitely much better than my first Champion’s Meeting when I didn’t even get to the final round.

One interesting thing I learned last week was that they actually changed the format a bit — this time, you only needed to win once in Round 2 to get to the Group B finals (as seen in the image below):

Honestly, if I knew about this, I might’ve considered going for the Grade League — even during my horrible run in the Taurus Cup, I still managed to somehow win once during Round 2. Sure, I would’ve been curb-stomped in the finals, but the prizes in Grade League are better than Open League, so it might’ve been worth it. Something to think about for the next Champion’s Meeting.

Anyway, now that the Gemini Cup is done, the game is doing another run of Legend Races, this time focused on long-distance horses:

I mean hey I’m down to get TM Opera O’s shards since I don’t have her character. Maybe someday I’ll have enough to exchange for her card… maybe. The others’ shards are just bonuses at this point since I unlocked everybody’s 3* forms (AKA their unique race outfit), though getting their 4* form might be good in the long run.

We’re already up to McQueen’s race, and I’ve easily won against her and Super Creek with my Seiun Sky. Still hurts seeing that one missing trophy though. CyGames pls re-run El Condor Pasa’s legend race…

Finally, new characters! The game just announced the next playable character, and it’s the long-awaited Hishi Amazon!

Along with that, new support cards with Bamboo Memory and Shinko Windy! Apparently the gacha is only running for a week, which is different from the two-week-ish period for most of the gachas. Interested to see what’s next if that’s the case.


And that’s all for this week’s update! Thanks as always for reading, and I’ll see you in two weeks for the next installment of WRGU! Until then, stay safe out there!

Leave a comment