[RR] A Look at Project Sekai and D4DJ Groovy Mix

Sup y’all, and welcome to another bi-weekly edition of Rando Ramblings, the bi-weekly post where I ramble about random topics usually related to anime and manga.

Apologies for the delay again — I’ve been busy with interviews and online classes. Luckily I think I’m in the clear now, so the schedule should be back to normal soon enough.

For those who didn’t see yesterday’s WRGU, because this is just a refurbished post from two weeks ago, I’ll be posting another Rando Ramblings next week. Look forward to that!

In the meantime, though, this post is a bit special. It’s been around a half year since the release of Project Sekai and D4DJ Groovy Mix. I may talk about them weekly in my Weekly Rhythm Game Update posts, but why not take a deep dive into both?

I’ll be putting down every thought I have about both games, both good and bad. No thought is too small for this post — I’ve tried to think about as many things as I could for this post, so hopefully I didn’t miss anything.

Let’s be honest, though, I’ll probably forget something. Oh well, that’s life — let’s just get into it.


Project Sekai

In short, I think the best way to describe Project Sekai is that it’s an upgraded version of Bang Dream! Girls Band Party (Garupa) in almost every aspect. What’s impressive is that Garupa is already a pretty good mobile rhythm game (arguably one of the best out there), so the fact that Project Sekai elevates that is pretty dang impressive.

The reason why I’m comparing these two games, by the way, is that Project Sekai is made by Colorful Palette, a subsidiary of the company that made Garupa (Craft Egg). That might explain why there’s a ton of similarities between the two games, which I’ll be sure to talk about.

Gameplay

Project Sekai, similar to Garupa, has three different types of notes: the tap note, slider note, and flick note. The difference in Project Sekai, though, is that the note size can be any size — it can be anywhere from a single note width to the whole frickin’ lane (there are 12 slots in the lane total).

What that means is that the maps in this game are super creative. There’s been tons of fun easter eggs they’ve added to maps — the most obvious ones have been slider notes as letters, numbers, and even the hiragana for “hello” (はろ) and “Miku” (みく). One of my favorites is the absence of notes during the portion in Melt when Miku sings “I wish time would stop, I feel like I could cry”.

New Wibu Game Project Sekai: Colorful Stage! feat. Hatsune Miku
Gameplay example

I might be biased since I’ve been playing Garupa for 2.5 years before this game came out, but the gameplay in Project Sekai is pretty easy to pick up. It’s just tap, slide, and flick at the right times. Pretty self-explanatory.

As for how it feels, it gets a 5/5 from me. The flick notes, which are infamous for how finnicky they are in Garupa, are responsive here.

The only thing I had to adjust to was keeping my finger on the slide notes — Garupa was a lot more lenient in where your finger was, so you didn’t have to be exactly where the slider was. In Project Sekai, though, one centimeter off means a miss on the slider. It was harsh at first, but I’ve gotten used to it after the first month or so.

Also, there are music videos available to play during gameplay, but I can’t comment on them since I don’t turn them on (too distracting).

I will say that the character pop-ups in this game are handled really well. Character pop-ups happen when a skill is activated or a combo benchmark is hit. Usually, a game will put their pop-ups in the center, which is distracting since it happens directly behind the note lane.

Project Sekai‘s pop-ups are nice because they’re in the side away from the lanes. That means it’s not too distracting — I’ve kept them on while turning off the pop-ups in every other rhythm game I’ve played.

Project SEKAI COLORFUL STAGE! feat. Hatsune Miku. Rehearsal Edit gameplay -  YouTube
Character pop-up example

It’s also nice that there’s nothing too distracting in the background of the lanes overall (at least if you’re playing in normal non-music video mode like me). The less distractions, the better. That’s because the difficulty of this game is way above Garupa. In fact, I’d say it’s the hardest of the three rhythm games I’m playing right now.

The songs have the same difficulty levels as Garupa: in fact, I would say the difficulties in Project Sekai compare to Garupa almost one to one. That means a level 25 song in Project Sekai is about the same as a level 25 song in Garupa.

Project Sekai‘s difference is that it has a Master difficulty where the true demons lie. For reference, the hardest song in Garupa is Six Trillion Years and Overnight Story with a Expert/Special difficulty of 30. The hardest song in Project Sekai is The Disappearance of Hatsune Miku with a Master difficulty of 33.

Thirty-three.

Oh, and there are 12 songs with a Master difficulty of 31 or higher. No biggie.

I’ve been able to full-combo every Expert level song (low-key flex), but I still haven’t even come close to even completing the four hardest songs in the game. Those are the aforementioned level 33 monster, Master difficulty Hibana -reloaded-, Master Difficulty Brand New Day, and Master difficulty Doctor=Funk Beat (all level 32). I’ve barely been able to finish most of the level 31 songs as well, using a healer team for most of them.

Point being, this game’s hard, but that’s good. I like that there’s still heights for me to reach, since mastering every song makes the game boring (see: Garupa).

Some final quick thoughts gameplay-wise:

  • When playing a Multi Live (with other players at the same time), you can see their combos in real time. On the one hand, it’s fun to see how the other players are doing, but on the other hand, it’s stressful knowing they can see if you’re doing horribly. It’s also nice because…
  • There’s a system in Multi Live where the amount of notes hit during a certain period in a song can result in a Fever or Super Fever, which means more points per note. The Super Fever is triggered if all of the players hit every note in the period, so another nice thing about being able to see other players’ combos is knowing who to blame if you didn’t get the Super Fever (including yourself).
  • It kind of sucks that you can get kicked out of the Multi Live if your connection is spotty, but the nice thing is that your energy isn’t spent until the song is finished. That’s nice because unlike Garupa, if you get disconnected mid-song, you don’t lose energy.
  • Speaking of which, it’s super nice that you can quit a Free Live without spending energy because of this. And also…
  • The fact that there’s a restart button in Free Live is lowkey one of the best features in the game. It’s super helpful when I’m trying to full combo a song and I mess up — I can just restart and try again! Way more efficient than having to quit the song, go to the song menu, and replaying the song again.

Visuals/UI

Suffice to say, Project Sekai bar none has the best visuals of any mobile rhythm game I’ve played. No, scratch that — it has the best visuals of any mobile game I played.

The UI is simple yet pretty to look at, and every menu’s been fine-tuned so that there isn’t any unnecessary navigation. The only issue I have is that navigating to different areas in the overworld is a bit cumbersome.

Basically, the overworld has two settings: the real life world with tons of locations, and the virtual world where the “Sekai” worlds are. Each unit has their own specific “Sekai”, and it’s where the Virtual Singers hang out and interact with the unit members. The Sekais in the overworld exist for two reasons: area conversations with the Virtual Singers/unit members and buying area items for units/characters (I’ll go into area items later).

Real World
Sekai World

Because there are two separate realities, you have to switch between them in the menu (see above images). That means if you’re in the real world, you have to click the map menu, then click the button in the lower right corner, then click the Sekai you want to go to.

It’s a bit annoying to do so (especially if I want to buy area items), but to be fair, I can’t think of a better alternative. And at the end of the day, it’s a minor complaint since I don’t have to go through Sekais very often.

Some other final thoughts visual-wise:

  • The game uses the same Live2D models that Garupa uses. That means the characters are animated in nice 3D models for everything from stories to the menus.
  • I’m glad the characters in the menus don’t keep talking like in other games. It’s annoying when you’re in a menu and every few seconds, the character starts talking. Glad that hasn’t happened here (and GuruMiku).

Events

The events in this game have been standard stuff: play lives to get event points to get event rewards and rank high to get event rank titles/rewards.

The one complaint I have is that there’s only been one type of event. It’s not that bad, but it they don’t add new event types in the future, I could see the events getting boring quick.

For now, though, events are fine. Similar to Garupa, you can get 3* and 2* cards tied to the event set. What’s different, though, is that you can buy them immediately instead of getting them once you reach a certain event point threshold.

Already bought the 2* event card here

While the freedom is nice, the amount of event coins needed to get the cards requires a lot more effort than in other rhythm games. I have to play more than once a day (using up all of my stamina) to get the points for both event cards, which does suck a bit. Better than SIF’s “rank to get the event card” system, though.

Finally, there are after event Virtual Lives, which are short concerts with 3D models of the characters performing songs. You control a little box avatar dude that you can customize and wave penlights around with.

The Virtual Lives aren’t just limited to events either — they happen for holidays as well as characters’ birthdays. The nice thing is that you get 300 gems for attending a live, which is pretty generous all things considered.

Overall, events aren’t too bad, but they aren’t really the highlight of the game.

Music

The catalog in this game is really varied. The only thing that ties every song together is that they’re all Vocaloid songs, which means that there’s a whole range of genres in the game. I’d say it’s the best catalog of any game I’m playing, but that’s a bit of an unfair comparison since the other games I play come from franchises where the songs are limited due to the concept (rock band, DJ unit).

Song-wise, I’m glad I played this mainly because I never really got into Vocaloid. Wow, was I missing out on some bangers. Better late than never, I suppose.

The main reason why I never got into Vocaloid was that I didn’t like the robotic voices, so the fact that there are alternative vocals with the human characters for most songs was a nice touch.

These alternate vocals are great for the most part with a few misses — I’ve been jamming to the Miku x Ichika Hibana -reloaded- song every since the full version came out:

Overall, great music to tap notes to.

Gacha/Cards

First off, the card art in this game is by far the best of the games I’ve played, including ones I’ve abandoned. While that makes it hard to not pull for every card, it does raise my standards so that I only pull for the best of the best.

So it’s nice that the game has been generous with gems, from earning them in overworld conversations (10 per) to character ranks which makes it super easy to get hundreds of gems at a time.

The rates are the same as Garupa with 3% for a 4* (highest rarity), 8.5% for a 3*, and 88.5% for a 2* (the 1* cards are given automatically). Pretty good, especially with the F/GO and SIFs of the world with their 1% SSR rates.

The only meh thing I have to say is that only new 4* cards are being added to the gacha pool: new 3* and 2* cards are event cards only. On the one hand, it’s nice that I don’t have to worry about getting a 3* card from the gacha, but it’s been getting hard to pull any new cards (since it’s already hard enough to pull a 4* card).

Luckily, Project Sekai‘s pity system is super generous. For those who don’t know, a pity system is basically giving away a card for free if you spent enough gems. You get a gacha seal for every card you pull, and you need 300 of them for a free card.

With Project Sekai, though, there are tickets that you can exchange gacha seals for. These tickets can make up for pulls — you can exchange up to 100 of them for the current set’s gacha seals, meaning you only need to pull 200 times. You get these tickets by exchanging gacha seals. Overall not a bad deal.

Characters/Story

One nice thing about Project Sekai is that there’s a varied cast of characters. Most games I’ve seen either have all girls or all guys, but there’s a mix here (even if the ratio’s skewed with 6 guys vs 19 girls vs 1 other). There’s even a nonbinary character who uses “they/them” pronouns (well, boku, but that’s ambiguous).

Having said that, the characters (IMO) aren’t the game’s strong suit. Now there’s definitely very interesting ones like Mafuyu, but I think this is one category where GuruMiku edges out Project Sekai. Totally personal preference, but I find myself liking more characters in the former than the latter.

Story-wise, I can’t comment too deeply because I’ve only read 1.5 translated stories. Still, the snippets I did read were decent, and I haven’t even gotten to the most interesting story in 25-ji.

Finally, a little side note, but man it’s amazing that the side characters get both voices AND Live2D models in the stories. In Garupa, the side characters had Live2D models, but they weren’t voiced. Surprising that they went the extra mile, but it’s a nice added touch.

Meta/Other

To wrap up the Project Sekai section, let’s talk meta. This is gonna probably be a long section.

First, my biggest issue with the game is how hard it is to level up your cards. Though you can get EXP from playing lives, it’s a minimal gain compared to using the EXP tickets.

Unfortunately, EXP tickets are super hard to get for some reason. I don’t think I’ve ever reached a point where I had “too much” tickets — I’ve always run out when using them to level up cards for my event teams.

I will say the game is doing a good job of adjusting to this: they’ve added silver EXP tickets as rewards for Challenge Lives (lives you do once a day for hella rewards). Still, it’s not enough — where’s my gold EXP tickets? Do they even exist? Nobody knows.

Speaking of hard-to-get items, coins have always been an issue for me. Whenever I’ve wanted to upgrade my area items, I’ve found myself short of coins at least 90% of the time (no joke).

I partly blame myself for that, though — there’s an event reward where you can get 100,000 coins, which you can guess I usually don’t take. Hey, don’t blame me — there’s other better rewards like the event cards, gems, song tickets, etc..

Speaking of area items, it’s super amazing that every area item is in effect. That means that you can have powerful teams with mixed-unit members as long as you have good area items. Compared to the other games I play where you can only set one kind of area items at a time, it’s super generous that everything goes here.

Area Items Example

Finally, let’s talk cards. I’m a bit bummed that there’s so much that you can do to raise a card’s power, because usually those things require hella resources.

For reference, Garupa‘s system is “raise card to max level, and 3*/4* cards can be “trained” and leveled up further, then you can read stories to gain a bit more power”. Done.

Well, Project Sekai has all that plus more. In addition to the “training” system, you can also raise a card’s “master level”, which is a stupid way of making it more powerful (adding slightly more points to it).

Card Example w/ Master Rank 2

I also really hate how a card skill’s effect time AND overall effect are tied to its skill level. In Garupa, the skill level only affects the skill time — higher skill level = longer skill activation. Unfortunately in Project Sekai, the power of the skill is also increased with a higher skill level. So a card with skill level 1 might give 100% score, but if you raise it to skill level 4, it gives 130% instead.

The varied skills are nice, but that is a huge buzzkill since it’s super hard to raise skill levels for a 3*/4* card. They’re usually still good, though, so it’s not the biggest loss.

D4DJ Groovy Mix

Now let’s take a close look at D4DJ Groovy Mix, shorthand GuruMiku.

Overall, I really like GuruMiku in a lot of aspects. It has fun gameplay and the characters are interesting to follow. There’s some more shortcomings to the game, but I think it’s equally (if not better) than Garupa as well.

Let’s get into specifics.

Gameplay

As mentioned, the gameplay is one of the game’s real strengths. Apparently it was designed by a real DJ, and it shows — the different types of notes are fun and give off that DJ feel.

To put it simply, GuruMiku is a combination of Garupa and Sound Vortex in terms of gameplay. There’s the standard tap and hold notes — those are pretty much the same. One nice thing about hold notes here is that they’re always enclosed in the same lane, meaning you don’t get the crazy patterns that the other two aforementioned games have. The Sound Vortex aspect is the pink slider that you move around to hit certain checkpoints.

The two outer lanes with the disks are “scratch” notes, equivalent to flick notes in other games. Similar to Garupa, you can flick them in any direction, which is nice since there are songs when they come in rapid succession. There are also hold notes in this section that when held, pause the map until let go.

Here’s a gameplay video showing off all that:

As you can see, the background effects can be a bit distracting. Actually, really distracting: I’ve turned everything off except for character cut-ins (which aren’t too distracting if you set the lane opacity high enough).

There are music videos for certain songs available, but they do cost a lot of a rare currency, so I haven’t been to play too much with them.

The gameplay is between Garupa and Project Sekai difficulty-wise. There aren’t too many insanely hard songs other than a Touhou remix. The level system is a bit different (max level 15), but it’s nothing too complicated.

Some final quick thoughts gameplay-wise:

  • There’s a fun mode called Medley Live where you choose four songs to play part of. One of the event types is based around this mode, which is nice because you can play without hearing the same song four times (thanks A to Z…).
  • The Multi Live DQ system is generous because you can actually try again, meaning you don’t lose the progress you may have had. That’s nice if you’re almost done with a song, but I think it’s not worth it when you’re just starting since you don’t get the other player’s scores (and you can restart with no stamina penalty unless it’s a battle live).
  • The options to customize your gameplay are the most vast I’ve seen in any rhythm game. In addition to timing, you can adjust the sound timing and even move the lane around. It was hard to figure out an ideal setting at first, but once I did, it became one of the most accurate settings I’ve had in a rhythm game.
  • One feature I love from this game is that resuming a game after pausing takes you back a few seconds. In other words, it doesn’t just go “3, 2, 1, GO!” — it rewinds the song a bit and acclimates you to the coming notes. That’s super handy, and I wish other games would use the same system.
  • Auto-play is nice, and there’s ways to turn off certain note types as well, which is useful for any beginner players.

Visuals/UI

Overall, the UI isn’t too bad. I’m not a fan of the darker colors they use like purple and black, but it’s not overbearing and I’ve seen worse.

Before the version 2.0 update, GuruMiku‘s home screen was similar to Garupa‘s — they both start on a random area in the overworld where you can easily read area conversations.

Now, unfortunately, they changed it so that you start on either your club, a random card art, or the Live2D model of a character in your team. I’m not a fan of this change, but it’s something I’ve already gotten used to in the month-ish it’s been out.

Current Home Screen
Overworld

Lastly, similar to Garupa and Project Sekai, the game uses Live2D models for their characters.

Events

There’s two big things with GuruMiku‘s events — one of them are the different event types. We’ve had (iirc) four different event types that are very similar to Garupa. There’s the standard event, the medley/challenge event, the battle event, and the weird Monster Hunter collab event that I’m sure they’re never gonna do again.

The other aspect is that it’s SUPER EASY to get the event card. In fact, I’m sure they made it that way so that you can use the event card for your team. Usually (AKA in Garupa/Project Sekai), event cards don’t line up with the attribute so using them wouldn’t be efficient, but GuruMiku‘s event cards match up with the event type so you can use them wisely.

It usually only takes one or two days of using up the stamina bar to get the event card. In fact, with the new stamina system, it’s even easier now — you don’t have to use boost tickets, just play normally and you’ll get the event card easily. Plus there’s only one event card, which makes it even easier. Thanks GuruMiku!

Music

With a franchise based around DJ units, the music is (of course) electronic-based. Having said that, there is a surprisingly good selection of songs.

In addition to the standard original and cover songs, there are also a whole bevy of songs from random sources like retro video games, wrestling, and even collabs with franchises like Touhou, HoloLive, Monster Hunter, and even musical artists like Nana Mizuki and ClariS!

Thanks to that, there’s actually a good range of music that isn’t just electronically based. For instance, there’s the original Hare Hare Yukai. Not a cover — the original sung by the original artists. The licensing tho.

Overall, boppin’ music.

Gacha/Cards

One of my biggest gripes with GuruMiku is the amount of limited gachas. As of the writing, we’ve had a 2:1 ratio of limited to permanent sets.

Now, there’s a couple of reasons why that is. There’s already been two collaborations (Monster Hunter and HoloLive), as well as tons of holidays within the last six months like Halloween, Christmas, New Year’s, and Valentine’s Day.

Still, I think back to Project Sekai where their Halloween and Christmas sets weren’t limited. In fact, they didn’t have a limited set until a few weeks ago.

To offset that, though, the game has been SUPER generous with freebies such as 10-pull tickets. I’m not exaggerating when I estimate that I’ve done around 300 free pulls (in fact I might be lowballing that number).

The crew

Because of that, I already have every initial 3* card as well as more than half of the 4* cards in the permanent card pool. It’s also super easy to grind for gems since there are separate rewards for each song difficulty, so you could get 150 gems each time you full combo and score S rank on a Hard/Expert song.

Similar to Garupa and Project Sekai, the rates are fairly good. 3% for the 4* cards, 8.5% for a 3*, and 88.5% for a 2* (the 1* cards are given automatically). Also similar to Project Sekai, the only cards being added to the pool are 4* cards. In fact, the game hasn’t even released any 2* cards since launch — the only cards that aren’t 4* are the 3* event cards.

Speaking of the gacha, the actual pull screen is POPPING. Take a look at a 10-pull I recorded:

Art-wise, the cards aren’t really anything to write home about. There are a few good ones, but there are also a lot of clunkers in the set with some weird-looking faces (especially in the initial set).

One of the “gimmicks” with GuruMiku‘s cards are that once you fully “limit break” a card (more on that later), you unlock the animated version of the card. Personally, I’m not a huge fan — the animation is just some slight back-and-forth movement, and honestly it doesn’t really work well with the art.

Finally, a special thing with GuruMiku (that’s actually coming soon to Garupa) is the birthday gacha. During a character’s birthday, they get a limited 4* card. That gacha runs for a few days after their birthday, but it’s also super hard to get them — I’ve tryharded for four of them and had a 1/4 success rate.

The good news is that the birthdays are pretty evenly spaced out — they happen approximately every two weeks. That’s a little relief. I can’t imagine what would happen if two of my favorite characters had birthdays in the same week. Oh no my wallet.

Characters/Story

As I mentioned above in the Project Sekai section, D4DJ has some great characters, probably one of the biggest strengths of the franchise for me. They’re not better in terms of depth, but I like their character interactions more than characters from other games I’ve played.

Story-wise, I can’t comment too much on it since I’m waiting for the upcoming English release this spring. From what I’ve heard, the stories are hit or miss, though take that with a grain of salt since those opinions come from some… really critical people. As long as they’re fun, I’m all about it.

Meta/Other

One thing I’ve appreciated is that the game has been adjusting on the fly. In addition to the version changes, they’ve also buffed and nerfed any aspects that needed either.

For instance, song meta-wise, there were two songs that were repeatedly spammed because of how good they were in the meta. During one of the latest updates, the developers straight up changed both songs’ maps, nerfing them in the process.

Another nice example is the poker events, which gave minimal coinage. After the first poker event, the coin multipliers were greatly adjusted so that instead of getting hundreds of coins, players got tens of thousands of coins (sometimes hundreds of thousands).

They’ve also realized how stupidly hard leveling up cards were. Unlike Garupa and Project Sekai, you couldn’t raise a card’s EXP just by playing lives with them — you had to use the EXP tickets as your only method. Therefore, it was hard to level up cards when those tickets were rare to come by.

Luckily, the game’s adjusted since then, and now we have an abundance of tickets to use. I’ve had extra tickets for the last few months, a stark change to the barren cupboards of early game.

Look at all of those chickens

In terms of card meta, I’m grateful the game doesn’t have any complex systems like Project Sekai for cards — you just level up cards, use crystals to “limit break” them, and repeat until you reach their max rank. That’s it.

Seriously. Even reading the card’s story doesn’t do anything except give 50 gems. Once you fully max level a card, it’s done. No master level, no card story baloney. Super nice.

One thing to counter — I’m a bit sad that every card (from what I’ve seen) pretty much has the same skill set of note boost + stamina replenish. It’s still early, so they might add more skill types later. I hope so.

Finally, club items. One of the things I don’t like is how the club items affect what your gameplay screen looks like. It’s a bit annoying having to adjust to a whole different colored screen during events and then switching back to your default later. I wish that they did it like Garupa or Project Sekai where they were just items in the overworld.


And that’s for this special edition of Rando Ramblings! Thanks for reading, and I’ll see you next week for another Weekly Rhythm Game Update! Until then, stay safe out there!

2 thoughts on “[RR] A Look at Project Sekai and D4DJ Groovy Mix

  1. I was just looking for information on whether it was better to pull on the event banner or the event member rate-up banner, but I found this article instead and I think it’s a pretty serendipitous find. It’s clear you put a lot of effort into writing this, and as both a player of prsk and d4dj (eng), I thought this was pretty accurate!

    I’m going to speak more about Project Sekai since I’m a much more avid player of it compared to d4dj, as I’ve been playing since the demo released last year. You’re absolutely right about all of the good things about this game. The beatmaps in this game are incredibly fun to play in my opinion, whether they’re spelling out “Rock N’ Roll” during a song using slider notes or putting in fun shapes like music notes or numbers. I’m impressed you’ve managed to full-combo all the expert songs in the game, especially the hardest ones! The only one left for me is Disappearance of Hatsune Miku, and whew, is it a difficult one. It’s like slamming directly into a brick wall on the last bit of the song where the notes just come at you with no pity and absolutely no mercy. I can’t believe people have been able to full-combo the master mode difficult of Disappearance and Intense Voice. Or, actually, any of the level 32+ songs.

    The cards in this game are gorgeous! As a f2p player (at least until the pajama costume set comes out for the premium mission pass later this year!), it is so difficult to skip so many sets. I will say that it can be a little hit-or-miss in that some cards look like they belong more as promotional art than card art (looking at you, Let’s Deliver! Hopeful Stage trained Haruka card), but there’s no denying every single card is always beautiful and creative, whether it be the color palette or composition. I think prsk, out of the rhythm games I know of, has the least number fanservice-y cards of them all and for that, I’m really appreciative.

    The master rank system is odd, you’re right. The 4* cards are so stupidly difficult to raise to rank 5 and have their skill maxed. I just want the costumes attached to them, I could care less about the card power, but they are all locked behind the ranks. I accidentally made the mistake of using a music note gem to level up the skill of a 1* card because I wasn’t paying attention the other day and every day I mourn that loss… Like I said earlier, I’ve played this game since September, and only managed to get 4 of the music note gems (from getting repeat 4* cards), of which I now only have 3… The ratio between a normal music gem and a music note gem should not be 2000:1. I think it’s an absurdly high ratio and makes it so hard to master rank/skill-up 4* cards. How can I put my favorite characters in cute outfits if they’re all inaccessible!!

    I will say I am a little sad to hear you say the prsk characters aren’t as appealing to you as ones from other games, but I understand it’s something very subjective! Personally, I think Project Sekai has very realistic and complex characters with very in-depth stories and interesting dynamics with other characters. 25ji especially excels in this regard, but all of the units are honestly wonderful to me.

    Anyway, there isn’t really much of a point to this comment. I just thought your review of the two games was nice and wanted to say my own two cents. Just wanted to let you know your article was fun to read while having lunch and your effort is appreciated!

    Like

    1. Hey, sorry for the late reply — haven’t been keeping up with the blog in a long while. Appreciate the detailed reply and glad to hear you enjoyed it! Low key I kinda look back and think this article was kinda ramble-y and was actually thinking of deleting it since it’s the second-most viewed article next to the D4DJ intro post on my blog and I didn’t think it was very good writing. I guess I won’t be doing that now lol.

      I will say after playing both games for a while now, my opinions on them have kinda changed (which I was gonna write about in a new post and why I came back after so long lol). This was written pretty early into both games’ lifespans IIRC so my impressions of the characters were very early ones. I can honestly say that I love a lot of the Project Sekai characters now, and honestly they’ve done so much of a better job at developing the characters in the stories than D4DJ (which I feel like has had almost no character-driven stories, only collabs and the main storyline).

      Also if it makes you feel any better, I can’t claim I full-comboed all the Expert songs ever since The Intense Voice of Hatsune Miku came out. Agreed with the people full-comboing (and PERFECT full-comboing) the level 32 and 33 songs, though — still haven’t been able to even clear any of those.

      Yeah I feel like I would hate the master rank system more if I was into the costumes but to be honest… I haven’t been paying attention to the costumes part of the game at all since I play without the 3D visuals during lives. Still pretty annoying though.

      Anyway, that was longer than expected: sorry about that! Thanks again for the comment — really appreciate the kind words! Comments like these are super cool to see, so kudos for taking some time off your day to write them! I might be semi-active again in the coming weeks, so hope you stick around for more!

      Like

Leave a comment